Hnited States Senate WASHINGTON, DC 20510-2606

May 31, 2022

The Honorable Chuck Schumer Majority Leader United State Senate Washington, DC 20510

Dear Leader Schumer:

We write to express our unwavering support for the Hyde Amendment and all other longstanding pro-life protections. For more than 45 years, the Hyde Amendment has ensured that taxpayer dollars are not used to fund abortions, saving the lives of nearly 2.5 million preborn children. As you know, the Hyde Amendment is supported by both a substantial majority of the American public and a bipartisan majority of sitting United States Senators, and was most recently signed into law by President Biden in Public Law 117-103.

Nevertheless, President Biden's budget for Fiscal Year (FY) 2023 once again proposes to eliminate the Hyde Amendment and other existing pro-life protections, while also increasing taxpayer funding for the abortion industry at home and abroad, including through massive funding increases for the Title X family planning program.

On February 5, 2021, we wrote to you that "[w]e are committed to vote against the advancement of any legislation that would eliminate or weaken the Hyde Amendment or any other current-law pro-life protections, or otherwise undermine existing Federal pro-life policy." We firmly renew this commitment for FY 2023.

We are united in our resolve to preserve more than 45 years of consensus against taxpayer funding for abortion. We urge you to start where we finished by making a baseline commitment to maintain the same pro-life protections that were included in Public Law 117-103, and to eschew any taxpayer-funded giveaways that benefit the multi-billion-dollar abortion industry. The American people, born and preborn, deserve nothing less.

Sincerely,

Steve Daines United States Senator

James Lankford United States Senator

10:

Thom Tillis United States Senator

00

John Boozman United States Senator

Mike Braun

Mike Braun United States Senator

Michael S. Lee United States Senator

Roger Wicker United States Senator

James E. Risch

United States Senator

ruz

United States Senator

Harsha Machburn

Marsha Blackburn United States Senator

Circly Hyle - Amuth

Cindy Hyde-Smith United States Senator

Mitt Romney United States Senator

M.h

Marco Rubio U.S. Senator

Kevin Cramer United States Senator

Jerry Moran

United States Senator

 σv

John Cornyn United States Senator

- W. Mor

Roger Marshall, M.D. United States Senator

Tim Scott United States Senator

Mike Crapo United States Senator

Bill Hagerty

United States Senator

- Barrasso

John Barrasso, M.D. United States Senator

Bill Cassidy, M.D. Bill Cassidy, M.D.

United States Senator

3

Rand Pau

Rand Paul United States Senator

Rick Scott United States Senator

ister

Deb Fischer United States Senator

Todd 01 United States Senator

all.

Dan Sullivan United States Senator

Jøsh Hawley United States Senator

Tom

Tom Cotton United States Senator

Pat Toomey United States Senator

Cyuthia M. Lummis United States Senator

John Kennedy United States Senator

4

Lindsey Graham United States Senator

Shilly Moore apito

Shelley Moore Capito United States Senator

Chuck Grader

Charles E. Grassley United States Senator

James M. Inhofe United States Senator

M. Michael Rounds United States Senator

20

Ben Sasse United States Senator

Richard Burr United States Senator

Tommy Fuberville United States Senator

Ron Johns on

United States Senator

Rob Portman United States Senator

Roy Blunt United States Senator

Mitch McConnell United States Senator

John Thune United States Senator

Richard C. Shelby United States Senator

John Hoeven United States Senator

Joni K. Ernst nited States Senator

CC:

The Honorable Patrick Leahy, Chairman of the Senate Committee on Appropriations

The Honorable Tammy Baldwin,

Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies

The Honorable Jeanne Shaheen,

Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Commerce, Justice, Science and Related Agencies

The Honorable Chris Van Hollen, Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Financial Services and General Government

The Honorable Patty Murray, Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Labor, Health and Human Services, Education, and Related Agencies The Honorable Martin Heinrich,

Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on Military Construction, Veterans Affairs, and Related Agencies

The Honorable Christopher Coons,

Chair of the Senate Appropriations Subcommittee on State, Foreign Operations, and Related Programs

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi, Speaker of the House

The Honorable Rosa DeLauro, Chair of the House Committee on Appropriations